JoMC711 Writing for Digital Media

A Blog for a Carolina grad school class, Fall 2006

JoMC711 blog- first entry!!

Posted by gercohen on August 12, 2006

My name is Gerry Cohen. I am a part-time grad student in the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Journalism and Mass Communication, taking the third of four courses required for a Certificate in Technology and Communication.

At the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill I earned a Master of Arts in Political Science in 2004, a JD from the law school in 1975, and a BA in Political Science in 1971. I served on the Chapel Hill Town Council from 1973-1979, the first Carolina student elected.

Since 1977, I’ve has been employed as an attorney by the North Carolina General Assembly, serving as Director of the Bill Drafting Division since 1981. I specialize in local government, election laws, and legislative rules.

I have a long-standing interest in Technology and Communication. I first used a computer in 1967 as a high school junior and learned to program in BASIC. My high school that year had an online connection using a modem to a computer at Dartmouth College (our end of the connection was more like a teletype machine).

I grew up in Hartford, Connecticut, attended high school in Windsor, Connecticut, and came to Chapel Hill to attend Carolina in 1968. I’ve lived in Raleigh since 1984.

My job (besides management) involves writing for a very specialized audience (state legislators) as well as editing my own work and that of other attorneys. I would like to expand the usability and reach of legislative documents on the internet, and make the internet more useful as a research and reference tool for legislation. I’m partially responsible for content at http://www.ncleg.net/, largely in suggesting databases and content for the databases. Each year I write several hundred bills and other legislative documents.

I’d like this course to improve my ability in writing for digital media, and help me understand how to improve content as well as understand limitations on what can be done.

My hobbies and interests include entering contests and sweepstakes on the internet, NHL hockey, and travel. My favorite trip was a 12-day vacation in Vietnam in 2001, you can see the itinerary, which is still offered, at http://www.intrepidtravel.com/trip.php?region=vietnam&code=VSF. (Since Professor Carroll lists a travelogue as one of the acceptable writing samples for our 700-word writing sample early in the course, I plan to write about that trip.) I’ve been a Carolina Hurricanes season ticket holder since 1999, and am currently coordinator of a season ticket group of 20 individuals and families that share 14 seats. I’ve traveled to Carolina Hurricanes road games in Montreal, Buffalo, Tampa and Fort Lauderdale.

My pet peeve? Sales clerks, customer service representatives, and tech support people who say: “You are the first person to complain about this”, as if to minimize the importance of my comments.

Below, picture of me with a python, Mekong Delta, Vietnam, August 2001

Gerry in Mekong Delta 2001

11 Responses to “JoMC711 blog- first entry!!”

  1. christy said

    Looks like a great start to me, Gerry. As always, I enjoy your clear and succint writing style. You wouldn’t by chance be a Hemingway fan, would you? Looking forward to your travelogue. Hope to have my blog up tonight.

    ck

  2. Gerry said

    hi Christy. Thanks for the compliment. Nope, not a Hemingway fan. My favorite author is James Michener (and for humor, Dave Barry) I’ll watch for your blog.

  3. loracangel said

    Hi Gerry,

    I enjoy your writing style as well. (And your sense of humor!)
    (Even though you’re the first person I’ve ever heard complain about…oh nevermind!) 🙂

    Since you enjoy entering contests, we should find and enter an online writing contest at some point to see how we fare.

  4. Amanda said

    Hey Gerry,

    Your blog looks great. It looks as though you’ve had it forever. I’m hoping I’ll get the hang of it over the weekend, to at least make mine a little more original!

  5. Kate said

    Hi Gerry,

    Are there any future travel plans set for you? Any place in particular you’d like to explore? I love to travel myself and can’t wait to get rolling on my European adventure at the beginning of the year.

  6. gercohen said

    Kate, I don’t have any current travel plans (though there is small chance I may go to a business meeting in Burlington VT in about 3 weeks.) I’d like to go to Toronto again and spend a fullday or more at the Hockey Hall of Fame (I spent about 4 hours there in 2002 but had two kids in tow and they weren’t as patient as I wanted). Another place I’d like to visit is St. Pierre et Miquelon, two small islands that are still a French colony, they are off the coast of Newfoundland Canada, and are fishing villages
    https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/geos/sb.html

  7. I agree with you about the clerks pet peevev, but do you know what’s even worse? Employees at stores like Best Buy and Home Des-pot who know even less about their products than you do!

  8. gercohen said

    hey DH, watch it, my older son works at Best Buy selling TVs and home theatre! 🙂

  9. sbader said

    Great python photo, my dad raised snakes when I was younger, and I have a Polaroid of myself at age four with him holding a python about that size over my shoulders, and me with a big ol’ grin on my face!

    I can totally understand your beef with the complaint response…a huge part of my job is customer service, and I have to much conscience to say that to someone, even if it is the truth, it just doesn’t seem right!!

  10. lbrewer said

    Gerry

    Interesting about your law school roomate being from Burlington. What a small world! Does he/she practice in Burlington?

  11. gercohen said

    Hi Livi,
    Ah, an example of poor writing on my part. I can see why it was confusing. My roommate was not a law student, I was. (“my law school roommate” is what I said.) Glad this is a writing course. He worked for the NC Administtrative Office of the Courts for 28 years as a budget analyst, and retired last year!
    -Gerry

Leave a comment